DCC Power Booster - Will this work???

Started by richd286, September 16, 2010, 10:34:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

richd286

Just read that an economical way to boost the power to your DCC system is to use something many people may already have...

The ac/dc converter from an old laptop.  I have 2!!  The web site said that the output of 18 volts and 4.5 amps was ideal to power an expanding DCC layout.   Does anyone have experience with this? The site is very reliable.   

richg

How about a link to this alleged economical way to boost power. We see this question every so often. This question scares me.
The controllers are designed for a certain power and voltage. If you are not a techie, don't mess with what works.
I have been working with electrical/electronics for over forty years and have seen too many issues with stuff like this that people "thought" they knew. Over the years I have found many tricks using this stuff but will usually never mention them to people who do not understand the basics. I do not want to be responsible.
If you really want to know, do it and give us a result of the "experiment".

Rich

richd286

Everything I have read on this website supports many other websites I have researched.  Why would this not be true?

http://dccconcepts.com/index_files/DCCwiringpower.htm

Extract of website:

As a modeller I like to pass on good tips, and here is one that can save you some money on a mid powered DCC system power supply.

LAPTOP COMPUTERS regularly die, but the power supply that plugs into them is almost always still fit and healthy. Look for them at work, at friends, anywhere... they are usually free once the computer dies!

They DO vary. 15 to 18 volts, always DC, from 3 to 5 amps. MOST will be perfect, but look for 15 volts as the best choice for your DCC system. Just cut off the DC input plug at the end of the lead and hey presto –a high quality, really well regulated and presto power supply... NO CHARGE!

Jim Banner