News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

warning on packaging

Started by ddse262, July 28, 2010, 09:24:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ddse262

I am new to this product/product line and my son recently received a fantastic Thomas and friends train set and 7 accessory trains. I noticed a warning on all of the items that state they have a chemical that is know to cause cancer, birth defects or other reproductive harm. Can anyone identify this particular chemical? I would like to research it. I hesitate to allow him to play with these great toys because of this.  ???

ABC

You do not need to worry about it as long as he does not put them in his mouth. Just ensure that he does not try to eat the small parts, tamper with the wires, or stick his fingers in the outlet, other than that your son cannot be harmed by this set. Most everything can be found to be a possible carcinogen if you try hard enough to link something to cancer.

the Bach-man

Dear DD,
This label is a requirement on literally thousands of items that are sold in California. Items made of plastic are particularly singled out. Unless your son eats or smokes the trains there's really nothing to worry about.
I'm sure folks from California will have more to say...
So, have fun!
the Bach-man

Doneldon

DD-

California requires carcinogen warnings on virtually everything ever made, even things that may cause cancer.  It's laughable.  So many things carry the California cancer warning that people just ignore it, so it does no good.
                                                                                                       -- D

Woody Elmore

Heck - even hammers come with a warning label to tell people to point the hammer away from their face!

JerryB

My wife & I like the biscotti sold by Costco. The product is manufactured in Texas, and we purchase it in N. California.