News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Need Info & Help With DCC & Sound!

Started by New ChooChoo, August 01, 2010, 08:26:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

New ChooChoo

I have a Bachmann On30 2-6-0 and want to install sound in it. I am new to all this DCC stuff and sure would appreciate some help with it.

First off the engine is DC. It has nothing. I have been looking at alot of things online and think I am getting to know somewhat about what I need. I have been looking at the Bachmann E-Z Command System. Seems it can run DC & DCC engines. I would like to install sound in the engine that I have. I assume that I can do this and NOT install DCC? If I do install DCC, is it just a matter of getting a sound decoder and plugging it into the DCC decoder and programming/running it? I dont really have to upgrade the engine to DCC? The decoders I like are the Tsunami Decoders.
   There is NO room in the engine,so I guess I would have to install everything in the tender? Oh and also, How large of a layout will the Bachmann E-Z Command System handle? I have two 6 x 8' tables connected with two 12' straight sections.......sort of a large oval "L" shaped track. Any help/info would be greatly appreciated!!

Jim Banner

The Bachmann E-Z Command can indeed run both dc and DCC locomotives.  And it can operate the sound if fitted.  But it cannot program decoders beyond changing the operating address.  That is fine if you purchase a sound-on-board locomotive.  In that case, the decoder is already optimized to operate that particular type of locomotive.