News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

How do you add sound to a GS4 Daylight?

Started by paftrain, May 26, 2007, 10:21:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

paftrain

Hi,
Just returned to England from a great holiday in Florida where I did some model railroad shopping! Bought the latest Bachmann HO GS4 Daylight - now DCC equipped. It runs fine, but I'd like to add sound. Has anyone tried this yet - first question is how do you split the tender body from its chassis? Then, is there a preferred decoder and speaker? Tsunami claim to cover this with their 'heavy steam' decoder, but Bachmann already have a sound equipped 'J' class so does anyone know which is better/cheaper? Any helpful advice on fitting instructions would also be appreciated. By the way, I'm fairly new to DCC so please don't get too technical!
Thanks in advance,
Paul, Chertsey, Surrey, UK

rikc9

Quote from: paftrain on May 26, 2007, 10:21:05 AM
Hi,
Just returned to England from a great holiday in Florida where I did some model railroad shopping! Bought the latest Bachmann HO GS4 Daylight - now DCC equipped. It runs fine, but I'd like to add sound. Has anyone tried this yet - first question is how do you splitode the tender body from its chassis? Then, is there a preferred decoder and speaker? Tsunami claim to cover this with their 'heavy steam' decoder, but Bachmann already have a sound equipped 'J' class so does anyone know which is better/cheaper? Any helpful advice on fitting instructions would also be appreciated. By the way, I'm fairly new to DCC so please don't get too technical!
Thanks in advance,
Paul, Chertsey, Surrey, UK

Hello Paul

I do not model that steam era but looking at Tony's Trains, Tony's offers the DCC like yours
in a Spectrum4-8-4 J Class N+W, DCC/sound with the LC decoder and Premium decoder which I suspect is a Soundraxx Tsunami. Not sure. No doubt the tender is set for sound with speaker hole.