News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Why Bachmann? (poll?)

Started by conradin, May 27, 2007, 01:05:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

conradin

I am still new to the hobby.  Bought the first set (Thunder Valley N) from Hobby Lobby because it was on sale back in February, but did not start collecting others until early April. 

I have since discovered about other brands...

I am wondering why anyone here buys this brand, either exclusively, or for the majority fo your collection.

My reason is that once I purchased my first two sets, which were cheap in Hobby Lobby (40% off), I discovered that other good brands are more expensive, even though they are indeed better in quality in my opinion.  The second reason is the different coupling systems that the other good brands use.  Thirdly, there is no point for me to buy other expensive and good brands because the only persons that play with the trainset, other than me running it, is for my cat.  I always run them for like 10 to 15 mins a day, with he and I alone in the room.  He likes to watch, chase and atttack them :-)
Father and Son time I guess...:-)

lanny

Hi Conradin,

I don't know that this will be much of a help to you since I model HO rather than 'N'.

The reason I purchase Bachmann HO locomotive products is basically twofold:

(1) I personally don't feel there are any other mfg. of HO steam locomotives made under the Bachmann "Spectrum" label that equal the quality, detailing, and reliability of the Bachmann Spectrum line of HO products. The price (and the variety of steam models, too) paid for Spectrum quality is still very reasonable in my opinion, when compared with other steam products made by other mfg. I consider them (Spectrum) my 'first choice' for quality steam models and only wish they would decide to produce an even wider variety of steam locomotives.