Switch - DCC Turnout - What is the difference.

Started by robogo, November 27, 2010, 05:43:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

robogo

What is the difference between a Switch, as included in the "Your First Railroad Track Pack" and a DCC Turnout?

Can they both be operated by a DCC Controller, is there anything else, like a motor or solenoid, that is needed to control these turnouts?

Oh yes, I am very new to this.

simkon

The turnouts included in the track packs are non-powered/manual and would need a mechanism added and a decoder to be able to be thrown from a DCC controller like DCC turnouts.

OldTimer

The name "turnout" is used by model railroaders to avoid confusion between a track switch (turnout) and an electrical switch (switch).
OldTimer
Just workin' on the railroad.

Jim Banner

The term "turnout" is also used by the track manufacturers in the full size world and the railroads who are their customers.  The term "switch" applies only to the moving parts ("points") within a turnout, together with the gear for moving those parts.  Ask a railroader working on a track crew about those giant size Atlas snap switches you see filling full size gondolas and he will call them "turnouts."  Ask a trainman how he gets the train from one track to another and he will tell you "by throwing some switches."  And both of them are correct.  But they are NOT talking about exactly the same thing.

Think of it this way.  You own an automobile.  The motor is only part of it.  A century ago, you would probably have referred to your car, the whole car, as your "motor."  Eventually, people started to use the term "motor car" for the whole thing as a way to avoid confusion.  Similarly, you will sometimes hear the term "turnout switch" used for the whole track appliance.