News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Derailing problem

Started by Arch, December 29, 2010, 05:17:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Arch

I'm new at this so if the answer to my problem is posted just 'point' me in the right direction.  I have a large lighted village layout and added two On30 trains this year.  One is a 2-6-0 Christmas train and the second (on a separate track) a DDC 4-6-0 freight train.  The problem is with the tender on the 4-6-0.  The rear trucks derail at various points on the loop...some on curves (22" E-Z track) but also randomly on straights.  There doesn't appear to be a problem with the track and I have rearranged cars to be sure the heaviest are immediately behind the tender.  The rearrangement actually seemed to be the solution.  It ran great for my Christmas party but has started the derail dance again.  I am out of ideas and hope someone here can help.  I have a great looking train that doesn't work.  No problem with the 2-6-0.

Thanks,
Arch

bobwrgt

You might have a wheel set on that truck where the wheels are not spread enough or spread to far. Check the wheels to see if they are all about the same distance apart. They can be taken out of the truck and adjusted.
If that checks out see if the truck swivels the same as all the others. Check the up and down motion also. You may have to loosen the screw holdng the truck on.
Let us know what you find.
Bob

Arch

Thanks Bob, I'll check that.  I have a feeling that the problem is the DDC wires from the loco to the tender, but the wheel problem makes sense too.

Arch

rrmchone

If your layout is a layout that is permanent this might help:   when i had problems trying to get the train to quit derailing in various places i took hot solder and put it over the gap where the railconnecters are and then i sanded it with sandpaper so it was even and level   and also sand the inside to     it went twice as smooth and it never derailed since.

ChrisS