News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

non Bachmann trains on eztrack

Started by Techie401, January 01, 2011, 10:58:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Techie401

I am sure this is a dumb question. I am new to model trains.  My child is very interested in them.  Can non Backmann trains be run on Bachmann EZ track?  We just got the Thomas with Annie & Clarabel HO set and I want to know what kinds of trains I can use with it.  thanks.

OldTimer

You can certainly run other brands of trains on your Bachmann EZ Track so long as the other trains are labeled "HO scale."  The one issue you are going to have is that the Thomas family of trains come with a european style hook and loop coupler that will not mate with the standard magnetically operated knuckle couplers found on the vast majority of equipment designed for the American market. 

Welcome to a wonderful hobby and Happy New Year!
OldTimer 
Just workin' on the railroad.

Techie401

thank you for the information!  Happy New Year to you as well.  I have one more question...  Does the Bachmann EZ Track connect to any other kind of track?

ACY

Not without modifying the E-Z track or the other track, but if you are comfortable ballasting your track and have cork roadbed that matches the height of the E-Z track roadbed then you can use flex track with it.

Terry Toenges

You don't necessarily have to modify the track. Just put something under the other track like ACY suggested. If it's another track with roadbed, someone makes adapters. The only EZ track modification might be to cut the plastic connector off the EZ Track whne mating with regular track.
Feel like a Mogul.

Len

Quote from: Techie401 on January 01, 2011, 02:13:51 PM
thank you for the information!  Happy New Year to you as well.  I have one more question...  Does the Bachmann EZ Track connect to any other kind of track?