Got a Thomas for my son, can I....

Started by JVene, June 22, 2007, 08:48:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JVene

My son visited the Thomas attraction in Strasburg, PA as a guest of the Make A Wish foundation, and while there we picked up a Bachman Thomas engine for him. The last time I had an HO train, they were all DC. I just now learned about DCC (and I'm a computer programmer).

I have an old DC power supply and a couple of old DC trains. Is there any way to use the Thomas engine with that?

Or must I get DCC equipment to run this engine?

Guilford Guy

DCC engine will run on DC power but I do not think that Thomas has DCC.
Alex

JWBDolphins

Guilford Guy is correct, the Bachmann Thomas is a DC engine, so it should work fine with your DC equipment.  I recently bought a Thomas for my son and am in the process of converting it to DCC - or I should say, I have it all torn apart but haven't found the time to start putting it back together yet!  :-)

michael4449

Dear JVene,

DCC is not required.

If you are thinking about layout planning for Thomas. or Thomas of other scales or manufactures, check out my free Yahoo! Group in the text below where I boast that I am the Founder.  It has info on W. Awdry's layouts.

In deference to the Bach-man, I have spent practically all my Thomas money on Bachmann.  A Thomas regular and deluxe set, and additionally one each of #1, 3, 5, 6, and 7.  I have even bought a 'EZ Track Expander" set.

I await Emily.

Mike Nickerson, age 49
Tracy, California USA
Founder, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Great_1/ (Electric Thomas)
In Sodor, not being perfect is OK as long as your heart is in the right place.
Even though your heart runs on Welsh Steam Coal and rain will ruin your lovely green paint.

JVene

Thanks everyone!

My 6 year old is ecstatic over his Thomas. Just an oval track on the floor, a few 'stations' and such, but I think we're hooked.