E-Z track durability (New Member)

Started by webster, January 29, 2011, 07:50:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

webster

I have had a 4' x 10' set-up for just over a year now (my second layout since beginning the hobby).  We have recently re-done our basement and I now have an area to permanently set up a new and larger layout.  I have two boys getting hooked on this hobby along with myself so I'm trying to please all three of us.  I am an avid crafter and artist so making buildings and scenery do not trouble me, but track does.  My current set-up has Atlas track permantly placed.  However, we heat with wood in the winter and the temperature fluctuations are a real challenge.  I'm really starting to have to trouble with the track and I'm wondering weather or not a system like the E-Z track will hold up better under the expansion and contraction because it is attached to its own trackbed.  If I do go with the E-Z track, when constructing bridges and such, does the track come off the road bed?  I know Bachmann has an E-Z track layout book.  Would this be a good investment?

Jhanecker2