News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Adding Sound to C&S Mogul

Started by PadreCraig, January 31, 2011, 10:01:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PadreCraig

I kept reading that adding DCC Sound to a2Bachmann 2-6-0 C&S #22 Mogul is nearly impossible - don't believe it.  I'm a newbie to DCC, but after reading the Soundtraxx Instruction Manual it looked easy enough.  So as they say,"fools rush in where angels fear to tread."

I bought a Soundtraxx Tsunami light steam decoder and a Soundtraxx 27mm dia. high bass 8 ohms speaker, along with a Miniatronics 2-pin and  a 4-pin connector.

I started off hoping to mount the speaker in the tender pointing up, but because of the curved backside of the part molding, I decided it was easier to mount it face down.  Drilled some holes in the floor of the tender, then using an adhesive mounting ring, I installed the speaker.  Easy job.

I then moved on to the locomotive.  After a lot of exploring, I finally figured out how to remove the boiler assembly from the frame.  It's as simple as prying the rear cross member back to release the tab holding the boiler/cab assembly to the frame, and then pulling the boiler up and off. 

The pickup wires (red & black) are connected to a small pcb (printed circuit board) that in turn connects to the motor.  Pull off the two clips holding the pickup wires to the pcb.  Solder the 2-pin male connector leads to the pickup wires - noting the polarity.  Then using the 4-pin connector, I used the two outside leads for the motor connection, and the two inner leads for the headlight.  The motor connection was done using the same manner as the pickup wires were originally connected to the motor - using the two plastic slip-on connectors.  The headlight leads were then soldered to the inner two leads from the 4-pin male connector.