News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Spectrum Decapod help

Started by brisbane, February 02, 2011, 07:49:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brisbane

I recently purchased a Bachmann Spectrum Decapod (full Soundtraxx DCC and Sound).

However on my test track is runs jerky at low speeds and poor low speed running, although runs fine from about step 12/28 upwards. I'm relatively new to DCC and have tried to follow changing the relevant CV's and other settings (and making sure to reset after the last few times didn't really work). I'm using an NCE system which works fine with my other DCC items.

I would try it on DC, but my old powerpack chucked it in a while ago, so I can't to make sure it wasn't something mechanical.

Can anyone offer any ideas?

OldTimer

Often times, new engines come from the factory a little bit "tight."  Try breaking your locomotive in by running it at various speeds, both forward and reverse, for thirty minutes or so.  If you are running on an oval, physically turn the engine around about half way through the process.
OldTimer
Just workin' on the railroad.

Joe Satnik

A figure 8 works  nicely for break in, if you have the room.
If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

Doneldon

bris- (sorry, I couldn't help myself)

Be sure to break in your locos by running both forwards and reverse. If you don't have a figure-eight track, be sure to turn the locos around so they get "experience" with both right- and left-hand turns.
                                                                                                                -- D

brisbane

I ran it in a foam cradle for at least an hour each way yesterday.

However on my test track today it has the same issue as it has before with no improvement. It runs much better in the cradle and has good crawl speed, so its obviously not a DCC issue but something else.

I am really disappointed in this product.

Doneldon