News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

DCC Decoder for 2-6-0?

Started by dmolavi, June 18, 2007, 09:02:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dmolavi

I've got an HO 2-6-0 that I'd like to outfit w/ a DCC decoder (sound not needed, but it'd be a nice bonus...i won't lose sleep over it though).  Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
DM

rikc9

Quote from: dmolavi on June 18, 2007, 09:02:22 PM
I've got an HO 2-6-0 that I'd like to outfit w/ a DCC decoder (sound not needed, but it'd be a nice bonus...i won't lose sleep over it though).  Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
DM

What brand?  Age of loco?

rikc9

Nigel

If it is a Bachmann 2-6-0 - not going to happen if you have to ask.

Best bet - buy a Bachmann DCC equipped 0-6-0, and put the pony truck from your 2-6-0 model on it.
Nigel
N&W 1950 - 1955

dmolavi

It's a Bachmann 2-6-0, purchased new about 6 months ago.  The reason I'm asking is that I'm new to the hobby, and want to know if anyone else has had success with this.  The rest of my locos are all DCC, and I'd like to be able to run this on the same track as those (I read that you can address the DC loco at DCC address 0, but that it can cause problems).

dmolavi

i hate to be a bumper, but ....bump

i've heard that the Digitrax No. DZ123 decoder will work, but needs to be hardwired to the motor. has anyone done this with either this loco, or another?

SteamGene

Okay, the Bachmann 2-6-0 is a Bachmann USRA 0-6-0 with a pony truck grafted on.  Depending on its age you may have a lot of work to do.  At the least you will have to isolate th motor, running the power pickups to the decoder and then from the decoder to the motor, making sure that no power comes to the motor through the frame.