News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

the state of the forum

Started by fitzythe4p, April 19, 2011, 09:03:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fitzythe4p

Hello all,
       I have been visiting this forum for roughly 5-6 years now, and I feel it neccesary to set the record straight over the state of this section of the ask the bachmann forums, as, over the past year or so, the quality of content being posted on here has plummeted. this is not aimed at anyone in particular, nor is it a series of orders that must be followed. this is a reminder of forum conduct, and some friendly advice on keeping this forum professional, and enjoyable for all involved. firstly, we all need to be reminded on how and when to reply to posts that others put up on any thread. it is not neccesary to include the quote of every person who has posted before you, every time you post. the purpose of the quote function is to adress a specific post or chat. the quote function should be used sparingly, and only when responding to a post that is relatively far back in the thread. secondly, some things are not neccesary to post at all. making a joke relating to the discussion is perfectly fine every once in a while, provided that it is accompanied by some piece of information that positively contributes to the discussion. making posts that are exactly the same as one another member posted is simply unnecessary, especially when it is in a post by itself. it does nothing to contribute to the forum, nor the thread it rests in. as I said, it is simply unnecessary. also relating to posts that people put on threads, excessive use of emoticons, entire posts written in caps, and over use of punctuation, such as exclamation points, are equally unnecessary. expressing excitement, frustration, or any other emotions being conveyed through a post can just as easily be put across using just one piece of puntuation, and emoticons used sparingly. Thirdly, any new threads started