News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Nickel Plate Road

Started by sour rails, July 03, 2007, 02:01:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sour rails

I'm new to railroading, therefore I only know the histories of a few railroads.  What I am asking about is "What are some of the railroads that would be in conjunction with the Nickel Plate?"  Simply speeking, on the side of my GP30 there is a N.Y.C. & ST.L, which means New York City & St. Louis.  With this in mind, the N.P.R. would be somewhat "alongside" the New York Central.  If so, what would be some others?  I've already purchased a Conrail, whether or not it fits, I'm going to put it there.
:) Suggestions would be thankful. :)
Sometimes, true greatness comes in small packages.  ~Sour Rails

Nickel Plate Road~Resurgence

8) 8) Sour Rails 8) 8) [move]

SteamGene

Let's see:
NYC
PRR
Monon
Wabash
C&O
IC
N&W (which absorbed the NKP)

I believe the NKP went out of existence before Conrail came into being.
Gene
Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

MrMunchkin

actually I think that N.Y.C.&St.L stands for New York, Cincinnatti and St. Louis, I bought my first Nickel Plate Berkshire when I was 12 with my X Mas tip money from my paper route and for years I thought that it stood for New York Central and St.Louis   P.M.

sour rails

QuoteN&W (which absorbed the NKP)
That would have been my second question.  But also what would be a good combination of different cars to use on my train?
Thank you

Elmore Yard

The NYC&StL stands for New York, Chicago and St. Louis RR.  Its major lines ran from Buffalo to Chicago, Sandusky, Oh. to Peoria, Il., Toledo to St. Louis, and Toledo and Wheeling, WV.  It was merged into the N&W in 1964.

TRM

Atlantic Central

The Nickel Plate Road is:

N.Y.C. & St.L which actually stands for:

New YorK, Chicago & St. Louis Rail Road

AAR reporting mark NKP

MrMunchkin

SteamGene

Sour Rails,