News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

newbie - help please

Started by sfromsf, July 10, 2011, 04:02:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sfromsf

Hello all,

I'm new to the hobbie.   I bought a "Pacific Flyer" set.
I set up the track, set the loco.   

The problem is that the car won't move.   

I'm digging through posts here as well as searching the bachmann site for tips on where to start.

The store I bought this from won't do returns or exchanges (I'll find a diff place to buy from now on out) so I'll be handling this through warranty if it is defective, but I want to rule out operator error first..

I tested the track and it's got juice running through it, so the electrical bits appear to be working fine..

How can I test the loco?  should the wheels roll freely?  they seem "stuck" as in they won't move, on the track or out of it...

I understand this is a totally newb thing to ask, and for that I apologize... I'll try to pick this up as quickly as I can :-)

ACY

Quote from: sfromsf on July 10, 2011, 04:02:05 PM
How can I test the loco?  should the wheels roll freely?  they seem "stuck" as in they won't move, on the track or out of it..
No they should not roll freely and doing what it sounds like you did could have easily damaged your locomotive. Use a multimeter to help ascertain if it is an electrical problem.

jward

after you determined that you had power to the track, and you set the locomotive on it, did it hum? did the headlight work?
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

Doneldon

frisco-

Driven wheels (those which are physically connected to the motor) will neither roll freely on the track nor in your hands. Non-driven wheels should roll easily which is why you can give a boxcar or a coach a little push and it will go down the track. Your 0-6-0 has all driven wheels so none of them should turn easily. You can damage the locomotive if you force the wheels to turn but I'm sure you didn't do that.