News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Newbie question on couplers

Started by taterthedog, November 23, 2011, 03:50:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

taterthedog

Hi. I'm new to trains and have set up a Bachmann Chattanooga set for my son. Some of the couplers aren't working anymore and I'd like to buy some replacements. What kind do I need? They have little springs on them. I see short, medium, and long ones listed but don't know what that means or which ones I need. Thanks for any clarification.  ???

Jerrys HO

tater-

Try the kadee #148. I use the #5 but a very good source (jward) suggested in another post that the 148's are easier to install. I now have a few of those on order.

Jerry

p.s. make sure you get a coupler height gauge to keep them at the proper height.

Doneldon

tater-

The Kadee website has great information about their couplers including stuff like shank lengths, knuckle alignments and what coupler fits what. It's an invaluable web site about the unchallenged best HO couplers on the market.

Welcome to model railroading. I think you'll find that it's a great activity for you and your son.
                                                                                                                                               -- D

taterthedog

Thanks for the helpful info. Another quick question, if a car has horn hook couplers, can they be easily changed out to the newer style?

RobBob

oh come on guys, can't you just look through their catalog and find everything you want?
http://www.kadee.com/index.shtml

I have found that their products are excellent, as I do the Bachmann products.

Happy railroading!

Jerrys HO

tater-

Check out jonathan's post on "upgrading older rolling stock it answers all your questions and then some. It is an excellent post as is all his posts.

Jerry
http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/board/index.php/topic,18567.0.html

Doneldon

tater-

The short answer: Yes.