News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Power issue

Started by tk, November 25, 2011, 08:15:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tk

I'm new with this train stuff.  My kids were given a lot of HO items.  We layed out a simple oval and had no problems with an Athearn F7A Super Power locomotive.  However, the USRA 0-6-0 steam locomotive that came in a complete kit seemed to have power issues.  The 0-6-0 hesitated every time it passed over the terminal/rerailer.  The F7A passed right over it without any problem.  Anybody know why?

Jim Banner

The Athearn diesel has 8 wheels picking up power.  The 0-6-0 has either 4 or 6.  Therefore, any dirt on the rails will affect the 0-6-0 more than the diesel.  From front wheels to back wheels the diesel is longer.  So a streak of dirt that could completely cut off power to the 0-6-0 would not necessarily be long enough to cut off power to the diesel.

Another possibility, based on the power loss occurring only on terminal/rerailers is that the plastic rerailer parts between the rails are sitting a bit high or the gear under the 0-6-0 is hanging a bit low, lifting one side of the 0-6-0 clear of the rail.  Or the 0-6-0 could be catching a coupler pin on part of the rerailer which could cause a hesitation even if the 0-6-0 never lost contact with the rails.  I would suspect being lifted off one rail is the culprit if the headlight flickers off along with the hesitation.  But I would suspect a mechanical catch or drag if the headlight did not flicker.

I will be interested to hear what you find.

Jim
Growing older is mandatory but growing up is optional.

tk

Jim, you nailed it.  The headlight does flicker as the loco hesitates over the rerailer.  I'll have to figure out how to raise the rails up a bit.  This is a used set that we just received and I've got a lot to learn.  What do you use to clean the rails.  ... and what do you think of the EZ Lube products for the maintenance needs of the train?