News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

decoders for N scale locomotives

Started by Fernando1547, December 24, 2011, 05:55:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fernando1547

Dear friends, Im new to this page and anxious to get up and head myself towards the DCC world. Ive unfortunately purchased two starter kits: Bachmann's spirit of christmas and explorer. Not happy enough with those, I went along and purchased 4 more Bachmann locos and 2 trolleys.
The locos are: Prarie 262 W/ full size tender: two EMD GP50's (santa Fe and Norfolk and Southern) and one Plymouth 060 Diesel Loco. The trolleys are: Streamline PCC trolley and Brill Trolley Lighted.
The thing is to be able to install the easiest decoders and hopefully information and tips on installing sound decoders as well.
Any valuable help regarding this matter (using modern decoders with the less hassle and work possible) is appreciated.

Thanks

Fernando

Fernando1547

OK so I did some homework...and some christmas shopping  ;D and this is what I picked up.

one MRC Prodigy wireless DCC
6 NCE Z14SR decoders (wired)
One MRC power booster.

Ive read the Forums and made my own idea as to what's in store but specifically I wont be planning to ever take my layout to any show or combine efforts with other modelers as to resent this decision...so far.

For the above, all you knowledgable please dig in with your thoughts and comments. The aim is to receive constructive criticism though and please bear in mind that Ive been around model railroading since my old Tyco Chatanooga way back in the mid 70's and then just sold everything away. So I'm pretty much beginning from scratch in MRR again although I have kept myself busy with RC model ships and planes all these years.