2-10-2 Loco backup light w/powercab?

Started by jadair, January 04, 2012, 05:30:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jadair

greetings - I'm new to dcc so this might be obvious, but how do I control the backup light from my power cab? motion and front light work. do I have to program the power cab to use the b/u light? Also, can you tell me which sound decoder would work (USRA Light 2-10-2)? Is it simpler to replace the factory decoder? Thanks - Jeff

richg

Right out of the box, the Power Cab should operate the rear light when you select, reverse. If not, reset the decoder. CV8, enter 8.
I use the Power Cab.
SoundTraxx recommends a heavy steam for a 2-10-2 and a medium steam for a 2-10-0. Same price.
The range in price from about $50.00 to about $140.00, depending on the brand. You will need a 28mm round speaker. Right out of the box, the Power Cab should operate the rear light when you select, reverse. If not, reset the decoder. CV8, enter 8.
I use the Power Cab.
SoundTraxx recommends a heavy steam for a 2-10-2 and a medium steam for a 2-10-0. Same price.
The range in price from about $50.00 to about $140.00, depending on the brand. You will need a 28mm round speaker. Make sure the decoder comes with the matching 8 pin NMRA plug. Some do not.
There are speakers with better sound capability but that can get a little more complicated as you are new to DCC.
A speaker opening in the tender might be an issue. Turn the tender upside down. If no speaker holes, you will have to drill your own and reposition the weights and maybe the PC board.
I just looked at the diagrams for the DCC onboard and the 2-10-2 with sound.
This will be somewhat of a challenge for someone who is new to DCC.

Rich

Jim Banner

Normally, the front and rear lights are turned on and off by function 0.  Which of the two is on depends on which way the locomotive is moving.