News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Digitrax and K-27 Marker Lights

Started by Ihranune, January 29, 2012, 03:08:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ihranune

Greetings.

I finally took the plunge and moved up to DCC for my loco.  Based on a review I purchased a Digitrax Zephyr starter set and the DG 383 AR board for my K-27 and so far everything seems to work just fine with the exception of the marker lights and cab light which do not turn on.  In some ways I am surprised that things are going as well as they are as the Zephyr is a tad underpowered.   The reviewer felt the Zephyr was great for G Gauge so who was I to argue.  ;)

Since I am new at the whole DCC thing I am not sure what information I can provide that can shed some light on the marker lights problem.  The only thing I can say for sure is that the Digitrax board does not use pin 5 but looking at the schematics sheet is seems that is actually for the smoke unit and should not be involved in this case.  If it turns out that the smoke unit is not working I will address that another time.

It also looks as if the marker lights are wired to the second bus so I am guessing that it is just a mater of programming but honestly the manual is not the easiest thing I have ever tried to read.

Does any one have any idea how I can get the market lights to turn on in this set up?

Many thanks!   

NarrowMinded

If the K27 markers are LED.s make sure the polarity is right, the "Common" Blue is +positive, when I started into Dcc i saw common and assumed it was NEG. like 99.9% of every other electronic device I had ever worked on.

also did you install the proper resistors in-line with the lights if needed? as mentioned in the instructions?

Have you Metered the wires connected to the lights to see if you have power when you switch the function on?

Nm-JEff

glennk28