An Alco S4 in PRR scheme or more big time railroads?

Started by PRRLEGEND, January 31, 2012, 08:32:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PRRLEGEND

Bachmanns S4 is looking really good. I hope they expand with more railroads like the PRR. I'm a PRR fan and modeler. I don't have alot of options besides the awesome K4 and RS-3. Bachmann if your looking please take this into consideration. Everyone else, what do you think?? :)

blf

I think, from memory, that the PRR units( I think there were only four) had notch noses, But would also be interested if done right. Bill

jward

you are thinking of the alco t6. pennsy had 6, n&w had 40.

pennsy also had quite a few alco s4s.
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

PRRLEGEND

Yeah, both of you have a great point. What i'm trying to say is if Bachmann could make a PRR version of this new ALCO S4, or make more PRR engines, its crazy how The industries buildings stand on the grounds of the old Baldwin Loco works. It's kind of why Bachmann made the K4 in honor of them, and Bachmann usually makes runs of famous steam engines. So what im saying is, why not expand their PRR market, and other big time R.R.s?

jward

let's see....

prr freight cars roamed the country, and were common on most roads. pennsy n8 cabooses were also used by illinois central gulf, the n5s were used by boston & maine and new haven. doesn't sound so unique to me. at least no more so than any other railroad.

as far as diesels are concerned, most of the time there weren't many differences between roads, so it's really just a matter of a paint job. alco s4s were common locomotives in their day, and could be found from coast to coast. that also doesn't sound unique to me. unlike steam locomotives, most diesels were off the shelf items, produced assembly line style with minimal customization.