I need a source for G scale decals or dry transfer Railroad Car Markings....

Started by emjayw, February 23, 2012, 08:42:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

emjayw

Hello, I am fairly new to G scale modeling and wondered where I can purchase either wet decals or dry transfer numbers and letters to finish off a 1:20.3 boxcar?  I will appreciate any help along these lines.  Thanks,  Mike in TX

Kevin Strong

For decals, you'll do well with either Stan Cedarleaf or Jeff Damerst.

Stan - http://1stclass.mylargescale.com/StanCedarleaf/WebPageDecals/CustomDecalsx.html

Jeff - http://www.shawmutcarshops.com

I've dealt with both, and they do great work. They both do custom work, and also have artwork for many common railroads.

Dry transfers are a bit harder to come by, since so few (literally one or two) printers in the US still produce them. Ozark Miniatures just bought the rigths to the old CDS and Larry Larsen product lines, and will hopefully begin producing dry transfers from those lines in short order. That doesn't exactly help you in the here and now, though. There's a printer in Vancouver (All-Out Graphics) that I work with for custom dry transfers. They ain't cheap--you're looking at probably $60 for a 9" x 12" sheet including the charge for the negative, so my advice would be if you want to go that route, cram as much as you can onto a sheet so you get the biggest bang for your buck. I suppose the same could be said for decals, though you generally want to make sure with those you've got ample room around the artwork to cut them out and work with them.

Later,

K

Loco Bill Canelos