News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

confused

Started by gordy p, February 27, 2012, 06:26:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gordy p

hi guys I'm new to large scale and have got a little confused.
i have got a plainsman starter set and have been looking at the spectrum range at1:20.3 are Thea's smaller or larger than my loco? also Wat scale is my loco?
cheers
gordy

az2rail

Your Plainsman is "G" gauge at 1:22.5 scale, if it is even that big. The 1:20.3 is actually "F"  scale narrow gauge using "G" gauge track. There is a size difference. Put side by side, 1:20.3 will be quite a bit larger.

Personally, I only run 1:20.3. But my Friend runs 1:22.5 cars with his 1:20.3 engines and they look fine. On the other hand, I think that 1:20.3 cars behind a 1:22.5 engine look to big. But that is my opinion only.

Bruce
If your parents never had children, chances are you won't either.

gordy p

thanks for that i got confused by this auction he says that the set locos are bigger and i must admit it looks smaller in his photos
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Bachmann-G-scale-Baldwin-Industrial-Mogul-81699-2-6-0-MINT-Lights-Sound-Smoke-/220922715245?pt=UK_Trains_Railway_Models&hash=item3370051c6d

az2rail

Let me confuse you some more. The engine you are looking at is a small engine. Even though it is larger in scale, it is probably the same size [or close] to your plainsman.
The mogal would look good pulling your train.

Bruce
If your parents never had children, chances are you won't either.

Loco Bill Canelos

Gordy, The industrial locomotive your dealer is selling on Ebay is smaller than the set locomotives even tho it is 1:20.3 and the set Locomotive is 1:22.5.  This is because the Baldwin Prototype was a very small switching locomotive used in typical industrial service such as a chemical plant.  Compared to their bigger brothers on mainline railroads, the industrial is quite small in stature.
Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman