News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Reset S4 decoder to defaults.

Started by steelrail, May 01, 2012, 06:49:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

steelrail

Anyone know if the sound decoder in the S4 can be reset to factory defaults ?
I changed the CV for bell rate and master volume but seemed to have
messed something up along way as now the lights do not work. :-\

It's a great engine, well not so much in the dark now , but I am new to DCC.

richg

Quote from: steelrail on May 01, 2012, 06:49:37 PM
Anyone know if the sound decoder in the S4 can be reset to factory defaults ?
I changed the CV for bell rate and master volume but seemed to have
messed something up along way as now the lights do not work. :-\

It's a great engine, well not so much in the dark now , but I am new to DCC.

Check the CV list fpr the S-4. It is here somewhere in the Bachmann site. You can download it to your PC and print it out if necessary.

Rich

richg

Quote from: Hunt on May 01, 2012, 08:27:30 PM
The S4's installed decoder is not a Tsunami decoder but you can use  the decoder reset procedure found in the Tsunami Diesel Sound User's Guide instructions.

The CVs can be quickly reset to their factory default values using the following procedure.
1. Program CV 30 to 2 (or CV 8 to 8 ) using either Service Mode or Operations Mode
2. Place locomotive on a powered section of track. If locomotive is already on the mainline, cycle power to the decoder by turning power to the track off and then back on.
3. After power is restored to the track there should be no indication of activity other than the power LED turning on for a period of six seconds.If sound comes on immediately upon restoring power, the decoder did not reset. Repeat steps 1 and 2.
4. Once the six-second period has elapsed, the sound should come on and the headlight, backup light and onboard diagnostic light will blink 16 times indicating that the CVs were successfully reset.