E-Z Command Voltage and ALCO FA2 Diesel with Sound On Board Not Working

Started by paco62, June 15, 2012, 09:29:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

paco62

I purchased Bachmann's Digital Commander Set with E-Z Command.  I also have the ALCO FA2 Diesel Loco with DCC Sound On Board.  It ran fine on my DC set.  I was able to program the two DCC loco's that came with the set and they work just fine.  When I put the ALCO on the track, it sounds like the sound decoder "kicks on" and the lights go on, but there is no sound and then the lights flash 10 times and go dark.  After several seconds, they will flash 10 times and then go out.  The train will not move or respond to programming.  It still works fine on DC and the sound does what it's supposed to.  I have seen small sparks when trying to put the loco on the DCC track, but not every time (and that could be me crossing the wheels on the track.  I am a noob.).  I am trying the ALCO alone on the track, that is, I am not trying to get it to work with other locos or stock on the track.  The DCC, non-sound locos can both be run on the track without any problems.

I searched this and found some similar threads that talked about the decoder being bad, but the loco manual states that, "when track voltage exceeds 21 volts, the decoder will automatically shut off the sound and motor and flash the front and rear lights..."  That sounds exactly like what's happening on the DCC setup.

Any ideas?  I found posts here and there that mentioned that E-Z Command puts out a lot more voltage than it should, but I cannot verify and it would be tremendously disappointing if that was the case.  Is there any way to test that and are there lower voltage power packs I could purchase?

Thanks in advance for any help.

paco62

So, I was perusing the SoundTraxx User Guide PDF, and found this: