News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

power supply help

Started by mmiller, October 18, 2012, 12:13:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mmiller

Hello guys,

I am wondering what a good power supply would be for a Big Hauler that needs to run for 6 or 8 hours a day?

here is a little background

I am a relative newbie to large scale, but have been railroad modeling since the early 70's and I have a good bit of "intellectual" experience in large scale but very little hands-on...anyway at work we got a Rocky Mountain Express (#90034) a few years ago to run around the Christmas tree and since I am The Train Guy it has become my job to keep it going.

The problem is that the loco stops running after 1/2 hour or so, we shut off the power and then after a while it will run fine again.

I have swapped out the track for Aristocraft track and have tried a MRC Tech II power pack. Neither change made difference.

Thanks
Mike
mike miller
San Juan Pacific Lines
On31.17 California 3' narrow gauge

Loco Bill Canelos

Mike,
I am not absolutely sure but I believe both the Bachmann power Supply, and the MRC packs have thermal circuit breakers.  When there is a strain and they heat up and pop and after a while they cool down and work again for a while.  the older the power packs the more likely the thermal circuit breaker may fail.  A short will have the same affect heating the breaker rapidly and popping til it cools down again.  Every time a thermal breaker pops it get a little weaker.  Repeated popping will eventually lead to total failure of the breaker.