News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Point to point

Started by Harleygirl3177, October 06, 2012, 10:44:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Harleygirl3177

Hi. i am brand new to the world of trains. I have a town set up already but can only run the train along the wall so it cannot go in a circle. It can only go back and forth. I have no idea what I need to buy to accomplish this. Can anyone help me? Thanks in advance.

the Bach-man

Dear Harleygirl,
If you're using On30, HO, or N we have reversing trackage available.
What is your scale?
Thanks,
the Bach-man

Doneldon

Harley-

You can also build a model railroad which lets you do switching rather than just
back and forth. Tell us a little more about what you hope to accomplish.
                                                                                                          -- D

Desertdweller

Maybe you can do something using trolley cars?  They could simply reverse at the end of the run.

Do you have room to put a reverse loop at each end?  Then you could run a single track along your wall and run a conventional train.  You could put a passing siding in the middle and run two trains, meeting in the middle.

Les

CNE Runner

Harley - Running a point-to-point layout can get very boring, very fast unless you give your trains a purpose. By purpose, I mean switching (shunting) cars into and out of industries/locations as well as onto and off your layout. To have fun, and keep interested, one does not need an extensive point-to-point layout...much can be done in very little space. I strongly urge that you become familiar with Carl Arendt's website on mini/small layouts. I am sure you will find several layouts that will meet your needs. Carl's website can be found at http://carendt.us/OriginalIndex.html