News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

remote turnout switch troubles

Started by eddie3, November 24, 2012, 05:22:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

eddie3

I am new to N scale and recently purchased a remote turnout switch #44861 to make a dead end spur track to store extra cars when not in use.....trouble is when i am backing into the spur through the switch,the switching mechanism is pushed towards the center of the track by the car wheels causing cars to derail.....I have snugged up the small screw to no avail...
Going forward through the switch is fine as is running through it on my oval track layout.....do I have the correct item to do this or would another type of switch work better?

James in FL

Hi eddie3,

Are you using the turnouts manually or are they powered?
These turnouts have been re-vamped recently.
Search this forum for 44861, there has been quite a few discussions from which one...to tune-up and most everything in between.

eddie3

I have the switch powered and it is in a position where i can manually operate it but it will not stay in place while backing cars through it as stated above.......are they supposed to stay locked to the position that is chosen?

skipgear

just fixed two brand new turnouts at our shop today that may have been doing the same thing.

The gear with the eccentric pin that moves the turnout throw arm was 90 degrees out of time. When you threw the switch, it went from middle to straight route and then back to middle. If you are not confident in your ability to repair it, take it back to where you got it or send it in to Bachmann for replacement.