Electrical pickup issues w/ On30 passenger cars

Started by AardvarkMine, December 26, 2012, 07:38:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AardvarkMine

We've got a small set up of Bachmann snap track around the tree and a new On30 Climax and 2-4-4-2 to pull a string of the Christmas themed passenger cars around it.  Over the last couple of weeks two of the cars have developed major electrical pickup issues, giving the look of a Christmas themed disso train rather than a serene turn-of-the-century rail line.

While I'm not new to model railroading I'm a novice when it comes to tinkering and not very confident.  I've cleaned both the track and the wheels of said coaches but that hasn't improved the situation (and the 3rd coach in the set is working fine).  I was going to take the trucks off to check the wipers but I'm not confident I'm sure how to do that being that there is no obvious screw securing them.  I also note some wires going from the truck to the car body and don't want to do more damage than is already done.

Any suggestions on how to A) safely remove the trucks or B) troubleshoot the electrical feed issue would be greatly appreciated.  The fact these cars light up so nicely (normally) really makes the train and I was even thinking of getting some passengers and maybe re-doing the car floor mail isle ways (to hide the screws) to make them extra special for next year.

Thanks!
Art
"Do what you can, with what you have, where you are." - Theodore Roosevelt

railtwister