News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

smoke deflectors

Started by union pacific 844, January 14, 2013, 01:10:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

union pacific 844

smoke deflectors where get a set for the nyc bachmann 4-8-4  want a set to paint gray and put them on my UP bachmann 4-8-4

Jerrys HO

up

This has been asked before and  I don't think they are available from anyone.
Do a search you will find the post.

Jerry

GN.2-6-8-0

I shouldn't think it would be to hard to make a set of defectors out of thin sheet plastic .you would want a pair of braces on the inside between the defector and the boiler but should be simple enough to do.......
Rocky Lives

union pacific 844

ok im not good at making stuff tho  :(

electrical whiz kid

Not to rain on your parade here, but maybe it is time to jump in a bit and see if you like it.  There is a whole world of enjoyment and personal satisfaction-I don't care what anyone else thinks of it-it is going to be yours that you did.  Smoke deflectors are a relatively easy straightforward project; why don;t you give it a try?
Rich C.

union pacific 844

i have they don't look right

union pacific 844

i did ten time none of them fit or look right

rogertra

Quote from: union pacific 844 on January 14, 2013, 04:05:53 PM
i did ten time none of them fit or look right

Smoke deflectors must be among the easiest item to build as they are just flat sheet metal with possibly handrails fitted.

Did you study photos first?

Did you use thin sheet styrene plastic to make them?  The stuff Evergreen makes?

Did you draw, to scale, the shape of the defectors onto the styrene sheet?

Did you use a brand new hobby knife blade to cut out the defectors?

Did you use liquid styrene cement?

richg

Micro Mark has stuff for making rivets. Super Detailing take practice and patience. It is not plug and play for impatient people.