Looking for recommendations on a 40W soldering pencil

Started by jbrock27, January 19, 2013, 09:13:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jbrock27

I am looking to replace my Radio Shack 40W soldering pencil that I have had some time now.  I find the tips don't hold up for very long, even with "tinning" them.  Seems the tip, before long loses material from the very end of it.
I was considering replacing it with a Weller 40W pencil.  Anyone have any thoughts, experiences, recommendations?
Thanks all.
Keep Calm and Carry On

Jhanecker2

jbrock27 :check out Micro-Mark they sell  several types of soldering equipment .   I don't do soldering often enough  to  retain the skill to do it well .  However  I  used to use resistance soldering equipment  when I worked as a electrical inspector  we were expected to make and repair the connections for our automated  testing equipment . One of these days I am going to break down and buy one. They make large amounts of soldering much faster. J2.

jbrock27

Keep Calm and Carry On

richg

I started out with a 100 watt solder gun in 1953 with tube circuits. Have not used that gun in  many years.

Below is what I have used for some time. A Weller WLC100 solder station. Love the plated tips. I have not had to file a tip in many years since companies went to plated tips.
The Radio Shack tip cleaner is a great asset.
The fine conical tip at 50 percent heat for DCC wires and PC boards.
The wedge tip at 75 percent heat for track feeders.
Micro Mark has an equivalent station.

I use a quad eutectic solder which is by far the best electronic solder I have ever used over the years. Used for high end audio equipment and quite expensive.

Rich

jbrock27

Hello Rich