Bachmann DCC Item# 61102... HO GP38-2 diesel loco...

Started by Brian1975, February 23, 2013, 09:24:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian1975

I bought this Loco @ my local Hobbyshop its a Bachmann DCC Equiped HO UP GP-38-2 Engine #2024.. "My plans for the loco is Yard switching" I am new to Model Railroading I just build my home Layout 16ft long   x    6 ft wide 2 track mainline & a 4 Track Staging/Yard.... I am running DCC : NCE Power Cab DCC system on my layout.. My question is when I bought this loco I thought it was ready to go with sound but to my findings its not the case & have to get a sound chip "or as there being called decoders".... I already have 4 DCC equipped locos with sound & 2 NS locos 1 BNSF loco & a Steam loco with smoke & spent a fairly good amount of money to equip the loco's... Is ther any way to pop off the loco's shell & install a decoader myself & if it is a plug in style I wont have to do any soldering or wireing I am trying to avoid paying the Train guy & the hooby shop to install the sound chip... & I would like to learn how to do it myself as well... Any tips would help
Thanks   Brian1975

Doneldon

Brian-

Bachmann doesn't sell its GP38-2 with DCC and sound; the locos are sold DCC only. That means you must add a sound decoder. (It's not just a chip.) You can add a sound only decoder to the DCC you have now or replace the existing DCC decoder with one which has both sound and motion control. You can most definitely do the installation yourself. Check the documentation which came with your loco to see how you can get inside to do the work. Good luck!

-- D

richg

I just looked at two diagrams for this loco. One seems to be DC and one, DCC on board so I assume you have the DC only.