News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Sloooooow Train?

Started by Bart611, August 26, 2007, 03:36:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bart611

I am brand new to model railroading.  Got this Bachmann Spectrum for my 60th birthday.  It runs sooooo slow.  I have to turn the controller all the way up to 70 to get it started, and when I go to the max of 100 it still is moving very slow.  I tried running the train for about an hour to break it in, and now I think it is even slowing down more.  I have checked and double checked all the track connections to make sure all the pins were connected.  Is there something wrong with my Baldwin 2-8-0 locomotive, or is it me? ???  I even tried running just the locomotive and tender, and it does the exact same thing. ???

scottychaos

Bart,
I suspect its likely your power pack..not enough power!  ;)
what are you using for the powerpack?
does it say the maximum voltage it gives out?

Scot

Bart611

Hobby Transformer
Model AC1601000
Input AC120V 60Hz 24W
Output AC 16V 1000mA 16VA

It is the one that came with the train.

Paul M.

Have the rails been cleaned? If you don't have a Brite Boy you can use common white vinegar.

-Paul
[
www.youtube.com/texaspacific

Bart611

No, as it was brand new, but I will try that tonight.  Thanks :)

Guilford Guy

Dirty track doesn't often make a train run at a constant slow speed. If you have any other locomotive or power pack try that, even borrow one from a friend. If the engine runs fine on the other/borrowed power pack then its the power pack that came with the set that is wrong. If the engine still runs slowly, try another locomotive on the set power pack and see if that too runs slowly. It's most likely either the power pack or locomotive!
Alex

Bart611

Thanks for the info.  I need to join a local Model RR club here in Denver, so I can find some other people that have trains.  That should add to the fun.

VirginiaCentral