Train wont slow when going down hill

Started by Mark FL, June 13, 2013, 11:35:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark FL

I am a little new to the DCC world and wonder if someone can tell me why my train speeds up when going down hill? I have tried to set the CV code but then the train will lurch going down hill. I have a 2% slope and have been pulling 5 coal cars.  Does anyone have any thoughts?

jbrock27

I know very little about DCC Mark, but this is known as "cogging".  Does this loco have flywheels?
Keep Calm and Carry On

Mark FL

Great Question J. My gut feeling is No. (But I will look).

jbrock27

Cool Mark.
If you GOOGLE "cogging HO locos"  you should find lots of posts about it.  It could provide you with an answer faster than here. 
People love pictures, so maybe if you posted some here, lots of folks would likely look at it with you.
Keep Calm and Carry On

Mark FL

I will check that out. Great help Thanks !!!

jbrock27

You are welcome Mark!  I hope I was able to.
Like I said, I don't know ins and outs of DCC but from the mechanical side of what I have read in the past about "cogging" it has to do with too much "play" with regard to the worm gears and how they interact with the gears that drive the locos drive wheels.  Shows up going "downhill" bc of the momentum created by the loco going downhill and not everything in the mechanism is meshing/rotating in sync.
Be sure to check back here as you will probably find additional input(s).
Good luck with it.
Keep Calm and Carry On

richg

Cogging is the armature resistance to turning because of the interaction between the magnets and motor coils.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cogging_torque

No idea about your issue though. Usually I reset the decoder to original specs when something weird happens.

Rich

richg