News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Proper Multi-Level Separation

Started by BobZ, July 07, 2013, 05:55:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BobZ

I'm just getting into G using Bachmann metal track. I come up with a layout that will have 2 or 3 track levels, running at least 2 trains. What is the proper distance between levels? I will be running Big Hauler type of equipment to start. Also, what is the max rise percentage and gradient degree? ie: 4" rise in 72" of track. My calc indicates 5.66% rise which equates to a little over 3 degrees gradient. Am I even close?????   

BobZ

I think I found my answer on a post several pages back. They recommended 10" clearance from top of rail to lowest overhead. Sounds ok to me.

Loco Bill Canelos

Simply stated the heavier your grade the less your locomotive will be able to pull up grade. do as best you can to keep the grades between your levels as low as absolutely possible.  On the early narrow gauge rr's there were times when certain locomotives could only pull one car up a given  grade.  I my 65 years of model railroading the thing I most regretted was having grades that were too steep!! 

Have fun and keep those grades low!

Bill
Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman
Colorado & Kansas Railway-Missouri Western Railway
Official Historian; Bachmann Large Scale
Colorado RR Museum-Brakeman-Engineer-Motorman-Trainman
There are no dumb or stupid questions, just questions!

Kevin Strong