News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Outdoor train layout

Started by Garsas, July 13, 2013, 05:37:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Garsas

I purchased a Bachmann Big Hauler with Indoor/outdoor track approximately 10 years ago but did not have time to do anything with it until recently. I am fairly new to railroading so any help or suggestions that I can get would be really helpful. One thing that I am wondering about is once I get my layout set up in the garden is it okay to leave the track outside year round. I live in the Yukon so we get quite a bit of snow here in winter and a fair amount of rain in summer. I know that I need to bring the train and the controller in but am not sure about the track itself.

Joe Zullo

If the track is steel it will rust outside and be almost useless. If it is brass it can stay outside. 10 years ago, I do not believe that Bachmann train sets came with 'indoor/outdoor' track.

Garsas

Thanks. I left the receipt taped to the box and it said 2004 so it was 9 years ago. It also says indoor/outdoor on the box of track. I think some of it is steel and some is brass so if I just use the brass it should be good

Joe Zullo

Correct. Brass track is OK for outdoors. Steel track is not.

Loco Bill Canelos

Bachmann has never made a large scale train set with brass track!
Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman
Colorado & Kansas Railway-Missouri Western Railway
Official Historian; Bachmann Large Scale
Colorado RR Museum-Brakeman-Engineer-Motorman-Trainman
There are no dumb or stupid questions, just questions!

NarrowMinded

The clues are in the post,
QuoteIt also says indoor/outdoor on the box of track.
I don't recall Bachman selling track in boxes back then, mostly blister pack and in the set.

NM-Jeff

GG1onFordsDTandI

Garsas, Are the rails solid or tubular? Older Lionel G style tubular brass may not be the best out door track. Are ties plastic or wood? Color? Diameter or radius? lengths?