News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

New to the Hobby

Started by Day Sailer, September 25, 2013, 11:57:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Day Sailer

Hi, I'm new to the hobby of model trains.

About 10 years ago I bought  a Bachmann Spectrum 2-6-0 and had it displayed on my fireplace mantel.  Getting closer to retirement, Ive decided that this 2-6-0 would be interesting to get going.  I bought some track (brass) and a power unit (EZ Command).
I also bought on the internet a used Royal blue line by Bachmann.  It was explained that it was broken, the front wheels were missing and a few parts on the engine had broken off, and he also explained he did not know if it ran, because he had bought it at an auction.  It did come with the caboose and passenger cars  I only wanted the passenger cars to pull behind the Spectrum.

The first time I placed the Spectrum on the track, it would not go.  I can hear the motor winding but it just does not go.  I think one of the gears is stripped.  I did notice that the wheels turn freely.

I did at the same time run the Royal Blue, and that ran fine.  I also noticed that the Royal Blue wheels do not turn freely.

I just received the power booster for the EZ Command, but have not tired it yet.

Any Ideas?

Thank you

Doneldon

Sailor-

First of all, welcome to the hobby and this board. I'm sure you'll find that some of the many aspects of model railroading are of great interest to you and that this board will prove to be a valuable and friendly resource.

The fact that the wheels (I'm assuming you mean the drive wheels, the larger ones with the attached side rods) turn on your Mogul does indeed mean you have a problem in the drive system, most likely a stripped gear. Bachmann offers a lifetime guarantee on all of their trains so you can send it to them with $25 for shipping and handling and they'll repair it for you or replace it. You can find the information you need here: