Ceiling train kit from Ceilingtrainkit.com

Started by semper_fi, October 22, 2013, 10:08:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

semper_fi

I mentioned this in another topic, but I don't want to hijack that topic, so I'd like to ask if anyone has used this company and if they are satisfied with the experience. It certainly looks to me as if this is a neat way to get my layout up and running with no mistakes.  Anyone?

SF

Ceilingtrainkit.com

semper_fi

Am I looking at something that no one else has bought? Is /are there alternatives to this company? I'm really very new to this and hate to spend a lot of money on something untried and find out that it doesn't work well. Especially if my expensive train takes a nose dive from @ 8' up.

SF

Loco Bill Canelos

It is possible that none of those viewing even use around the cieling track!  It is a very small part of the hobby.   A check of Garden Railways Magazine will have other brands you may wish to look at.

This link may lead to some reviews of the product: (no guarantee)

http://video.search.yahoo.com/search/video?p=review+ceiling+train+kit
Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman
Colorado & Kansas Railway-Missouri Western Railway
Official Historian; Bachmann Large Scale
Colorado RR Museum-Brakeman-Engineer-Motorman-Trainman
There are no dumb or stupid questions, just questions!

armorsmith

Semper,

There are several different manufacturers of elevated track support systems available, as Bill recommends, check GR magazine.

I too and considering one for running on rainy days and when the grandchildren are visiting.  Allen 'Mik' Bupp, may he rest in peace, did his elevated using the 'closet maid' style shelving.  I have seen several variations on both the ladder system and plain boards on shelf supports as well.  My approach will be a mixture of methods depending on where in the room the track is headed.