Retrofitting Bachmann Civil War train set

Started by AVCOTT, December 14, 2013, 10:34:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AVCOTT

I just purchased two Bachmann Civil War HO train sets. I am new at this hobby but do have an interest in creating a layout that features a civil war theme. On one side of the layout will be a working yard and the trains will run about ten feet to the other side of the layout. Before I purchase any more trains, am wondering how to power all the track that will be needed in the layout. Each set comes with its own transformer that is DC. Am wondering if these trains can be retrofitted to work on DDC, I think it is called? Is this a part that needs to be put into the train itself?  Will I need a larger transformer too? Thanks ...

richg

Quote from: AVCOTT on December 14, 2013, 10:34:46 PM
I just purchased two Bachmann Civil War HO train sets. I am new at this hobby but do have an interest in creating a layout that features a civil war theme. On one side of the layout will be a working yard and the trains will run about ten feet to the other side of the layout. Before I purchase any more trains, am wondering how to power all the track that will be needed in the layout. Each set comes with its own transformer that is DC. Am wondering if these trains can be retrofitted to work on DDC, I think it is called? Is this a part that needs to be put into the train itself?  Will I need a larger transformer too? Thanks ...

Since you are new here, there is a HO forum.
I have converted the Bachmann 4-4-0 to DCC.

Not really at Civil War loco but close enough I guess.
It could be a challenge if you are new to DCC and model railroading. It will not be plug and play.
Below is a link on making the loco run better that I have used.
A short wheel base loco and tender needs all the pickups it can get. DCC does not like any interuptions.

http://www.pacificcoastairlinerr.com/1879/bachmann_4-4-0/sound/