News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Track purchasing

Started by eds@acnrep.com, December 24, 2013, 05:51:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

eds@acnrep.com

I'm new to bachmann trains with a gift of Thunder Valley starter kit.
My goal is a shelf system around a portion of a finished basement.
Rather ambitious I know and it would require 68 lineal feet of track.
What's the best plan to purchase that minimum amount of track.
I've found '30 sections available does anyone sell longer sections?

rogertra

Quote from: eds@acnrep.com on December 24, 2013, 05:51:54 PM
I'm new to bachmann trains with a gift of Thunder Valley starter kit.
My goal is a shelf system around a portion of a finished basement.
Rather ambitious I know and it would require 68 lineal feet of track.
What's the best plan to purchase that minimum amount of track.
I've found '30 sections available does anyone sell longer sections?

Before you build anything, repeat anything.  buy some Kalmbach books on track planing.  Pick or adapt one you like.  From the plan, you can figure out what track you need.

36" or thereabouts, some is metric so is sold by the metre, is the longest length you can buy.

Also, decide if you want non scale code 100, not really needed these days with everything having finer scale wheels, or code 83 rail.  Better looking and a scale size rail.

Don't rush into building before you do some research.

That's the best advice I can give.

Merry Christmas.

Doneldon

ed-

The Bmann's store is down for maintenance so I can't check whether you have black roadbed with steel alloy rails or gray roadbed with nickel-silver rails. In either case, I strongly urge you to use the gray track as the nickel-silver rails, while not perfect, are much better than the steel alloy when it comes to cleaning, corrosion and electrical conductivity. There's also a better selection of turnouts (switches), crossings, crossovers and special track lengths in the NS line.