News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Adding sound to On30 2-8-0

Started by gtwralph, January 07, 2014, 09:09:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gtwralph

I am new to On30.  I have a Bachmann Spectrum Little River 2-8-0 # 25963. It is DCC-equipped.
I would like to add sound to the engine.  Can this be done and how hard would it be?

Thanks for your help!

Ralph

Stevelewis

It should not  be  difficult,

You will needd to  source  a sutable  sound decoder and a  speaker   not sure  what  the  avaiabilty is  over  there, but possibly Digitrax will do a  suitabe  one,

It is  simply a case of removing  the tender  bady to gain access to th  intterior,  mount the speaker in the  base after  removing the  pcb.  (  I think the  tender base will already be moulded to accept a speaker  if not it will be  nescessary to drill a  few 1/8" holes to let  the  sound  out.

The new  sound decoder  is  then plugged in to the 8 pin socket (assuming it  is  8 pin) on the pcb  after  removing  the  original decoder.
STEVE LEWIS   North  WALES   UK

Close  to  the  Great  Little  Trains  Of Wales!!

richg

Since Bachmann uses SoundTraxx products, below is a link to the SoundTraxx site with a decoder selector.

http://www.soundtraxx.com/

Below is a link that will show you how to attach the Tsunami decoder to the eight pin socket in the tender.
Look in SoundTraxx, Tsunami.
Do yourself a favour, take time to look thought the SoundTraxx site and Mr DCC site. You will develop a lot of knowledge about DCC. Sure beats being led by the hand. You get a tremendous sense of accomplishment.

http://www.mrdccu.com/

Below is a sound install by Jonathan. This guy is great for tutorials. It is HO scale but might be close enough to help.

http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/board/index.php/topic,16616.0.html

Rich

gtwralph