Have some Bachmann DC trains. Can they be converted to DCC?

Started by badkarma, January 12, 2014, 06:48:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

badkarma

Hi, I'm new to the this forum. I'm also new to HO trains. Doing it about a year now. My collections of HO trains are Bachmann's DC lines. I have a couple of GP30's, GP38-2's, SD40-2's, and a several F7's. Can I convert them to DCC? If yes, how do I go by doing that?

rogertra

Practically anything can be converted to DCC but unless you have soldering skills, some electrical skills and, I guess, modelling skills, it can be a challenge.

I'm sure others on this board with more expertise than I will be able to direct you to useful sites on the web.

Google is your friend so may may want to start there.

Try "Bachmann GP30 adding DCC" or similar in Google.

Best of luck.

jbrock27

Yes, there is ton of YouTube vids and write ups on line that will help.  It runs the gamut from how to do split frames to single chassis types.  The big question is BK, how old are these locos, what kind of motors do they have in them and do they have all wheel pickup?
Keep Calm and Carry On

badkarma

The trains were new from a year ago. Ran them each about 10 - 15 minutes about once a every couple of weeks. They run great since last tested. My soldering skills are good to great. Modeling though I don't have the patient for gluing. Hopefully there is no gluing involve in converting the the boards.

Doneldon

BK-

Some gluing, perhaps, but certainly not a lot.

By "new," do you mean you purchased them as new, in the box items, or just new to you? If they were new, new merchandise a year ago, they should be fairly easy to convert to DCC. All four series are currently available both with and without DCC installed. My guess is that the installations will be fairly easy, maybe just pulling the existing PCBs and replacing them with the designated DCC boards.