News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Gauge and Scale?

Started by tcjeffery, January 18, 2014, 02:07:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tcjeffery

I'm new to this and doing it for my grandson. Is there a book, or website that can help me understand the different gauge/scale etc. I want to buy our first train set for his birthday and want to ensure I am buying something that will be sustainable and I can add on to as time goes on.  I was looking at the Ringling Bros Bachman train but don't understand the size part.

Hunt

Click Here for information about gauge and scale.
Click Here for links to information for the questions you have not yet asked.

Doneldon

tcj-

Bachmann makes circus trains in three scales: HO, O and large scale. Which one is most appropriate for your grandson depends on his age. But before we get into that, let's clarify a couple of terms, gauge and scale. These two terms get used interchangeably but they have distinctly different meanings which are important as you look for a type/size of train to model.