Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Track

Started by fhenn, February 08, 2014, 07:56:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fhenn

Are any of the brass tracks brands interchangeable, IE LGB, Pico  Thank You

Loco Bill Canelos

I am pretty sure all of them are, but I have no personal experience with Piko or AMT.   There was one brand I can't remember which, that was higher in profile than the others when it first came out but it was corrected in later runs.  I used shims and a rail clamp to make the transition work

If you are asking because you are looking for bargains that might crop up, you should be OK, and at most might have to make a minor tweak here and there.

Hopefully others with more specific experience with specific brands will post responses.
Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman
Colorado & Kansas Railway-Missouri Western Railway
Official Historian; Bachmann Large Scale
Colorado RR Museum-Brakeman-Engineer-Motorman-Trainman
There are no dumb or stupid questions, just questions!

fhenn

Thank You, trying to do the garden railroad thing, As being retired all ways looking to save money. But as much as this stuff cost, I do not want make that kind of mistake

Loco Bill Canelos

I understand the need to keep costs down.  If you will be doing track power outside, then as expensive as they can be I strongly recommend using rail clamps to connect your track pieces. You can save on joiners and clamps by buying the longest possible sections of track.

Have fun,

Bill
Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman
Colorado & Kansas Railway-Missouri Western Railway
Official Historian; Bachmann Large Scale
Colorado RR Museum-Brakeman-Engineer-Motorman-Trainman
There are no dumb or stupid questions, just questions!

Chuck N