News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Changing loco from DC to DCC

Started by Kenmac, February 19, 2014, 11:34:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kenmac

Hi All. I live in Australia and have just restarted the hobby after a 35 year absence.  Have decided to go Old American circa <1900. in HO
I have bought a Bachmann "HO" American 4-4-0 & Tender Item No. 51124. Still in box. Love the look of these locos.
Am in the process of designing a layout to suit my requirements to run 2 locos and a shunter.
Have been reading all about DCC  vers DC and have come to conclusion that DCC appears to be the way to go.
Anyway is it possible to make my loco DCC compatible. Is there an aftermarket kit available that is fairly simple to use.
If so, how much and where do I get it. PS. I am not too good with electronics, normal electrics OK.

Thanks Kenmac

Doneldon

Ken-

Just about anything can be converted to DCC; the question is, will it be worth it. In this case the answer is "yes." It's a manageable job and it's the only way to get an old timer with DCC. Including sound would be a little more difficult because you must also install a speaker but that task is a doable one, too.

Good luck with your project and welcome back to the hobby.

-- D

Steve Magee

Hi Ken

Welcome from a fellow Aussie. No kits available but if you do electrics then its a relatively easy job.