News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Sound decoder on a Consolidation

Started by Inder, October 01, 2007, 02:13:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Inder

Hello there,

I am about to buy my DCC system pretty soon here.  Now I know that the Consolidation is DCC ready and there is space in the boiler to for the decoder but you have to compromise and remove a weight.  I don't like this idea because it will affect the phenomenal pulling performance of the Consolidation.

So I was thinking that there is plenty of space in the tender for a sound decoder.  I will have to reroute the wires but I am willing to do this.

Has anyone done this?  Which sound decoder do you guys recommend?

Thank you

Inder

So far the best one, price-wise since I have no experience with any of this stuff is:
Soundtraxx  LC090  N-Scale for $64.00

fieromike

Quote from: Inder on October 01, 2007, 02:13:01 AM
Hello there,

I am about to buy my DCC system pretty soon here.  Now I know that the Consolidation is DCC ready and there is space in the boiler to for the decoder but you have to compromise and remove a weight.  I don't like this idea because it will affect the phenomenal pulling performance of the Consolidation.

So I was thinking that there is plenty of space in the tender for a sound decoder.  I will have to reroute the wires but I am willing to do this.

Has anyone done this?  Which sound decoder do you guys recommend?

Thank you
There may be room for a sound decoder in the tender IF you can get it open without damaging it.
You will lose weight by removing the drop-in weight in the boiler, but not enough to get frantic about.  The drop-in weight weighs 3.1grams with the plastic tray, and a DZ123 decoder weighs 1.9grams for a net loss of 1.2grams.  IOW, not much difference.

Mike
BTW, a U.S. penny also weighs 3.1grams.

Inder

I don't know how to do open it without damaging it.