News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Are Bachmann engines compatible ?

Started by dwdrummer, March 05, 2014, 10:02:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dwdrummer

I have been operating my HO layout for over 45 years. I've used Athearn Ready to Roll engines exclusively. Lately I've come to notice the Bachmann line of fine Ready to Run GP40-2 engines in the CSX Dark Future paint scheme.
What I'd like to know from the other modelers that use Bachmann diesels out there is if Athearn and Bachmann are compatible if used together, whether in 2,3 or 4 engines coupled together.
I'm very impressed with the paint and numbers on your engines, but before making purchases to compliment my CSX GP38-2 & GP40-2 fleet I would like to know if they are compatible. ( multiple units coupled together)
I still run the locomotives with a DC power pack and purchasing anything with sound etc is just not for me. I'll stay old school.
Looking for answers if possible out there and a thank you to all those who reply to my questions.
Thank you,

Doneldon

dw-

There are no mechanical or electrical issues which would create any problems if you run Athearn and Bachmann locomotives together. You could find some speed matching problems but that could be true for all Athearn or all Bachmann consists, too. I suggest that you go ahead and try it. If you have a good LHS (making you the envy of many model rails) you can try taking one or two of your existing locos in and see how they play with ones from Bachmann.
                                                                                                                                                                                -- D

richg

There is a good chance they will be compatible. Make sure they are setup for DC only operation. I believe many are going to be DCC on board which is DC or DCC capable. Running those in a multiple set up might not work very well. I have yet to hear of anyone trying that.