Williams 1996 GP7/9 Problem with FNR Board??

Started by jag8630, March 23, 2014, 03:51:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jag8630

I Seem to have shorted my FNR Board, the Engine will not respond, I removed the shell and applied power, the AC power will not work, when connected to the motors the DC works fine, is it possible that the rectifier has shorted out, or would it be a relay, I am fairly new to the Williams Diesels, the sound board works fine??  thanks Joe

phillyreading

Do you have lights? The True Blast sound board is a separate circuit board from the motor control board even though it plugs into the reversing circuit board for power and will work when the motor control board don't work.

The motors are DC can motors, so you will need to check them with a DC power source. DO not use direct track power to check your motors or you just killed them.  The circuit boards have no relays in them that I know of so it would be better to replace the circuit boards then to repair them unless you are an electronics person.

If the circuit board is bad you can check and see what kind of price you might be able to buy a new or used replacement for. If the prices are too high you can always take the circuit board out and install a 6 amp 50 volt bridge rectifier in place of the circuit board, however you will lose direction control.

Lee F.

Joe Satnik

To add to what Lee said,

if you want manual FNR control, install a 6A DPDT Center-Off switch wired to reverse the polarity of the Diode bridge.

center rail red wires: Diode bridge one ~

outside rails black wires: Diode bridge other ~

Switch 1 and 6: Diode bridge +

Switch 2 and 5: Diode bridge -

Switch 3:  Motor yellow wires

Switch 4:  Motor blue wires

1 2

3 4  Back of DPDT switch

5 6

Careful not to short wires between adjacent posts on back of switch

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik
If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

jag8630