News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Wiring EZ track

Started by GK Trains, October 18, 2014, 02:39:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GK Trains

I purchased EZ track (HO) and 3 terminal rerailers to power the track. I purchased 3 so that I would not have a drop on the current on my 5' by 9' layout. I tried running all 3 thru a terminal strip with a terminal strip jumper. One side for the positive and one for the ground. The positive and ground are separated. It appears that when all 3 are connected to the track, the train does not run. Disconnecting two allows the train to operate. I am new to this gauge having spent most of my hobby time with "O" gauge trains and would appreciate any help. Thank you.

Jerrys HO

GK,
Although I have used the terminal strips with no problems, I preferred to run a buss and drop down feeders to it.
Make sure all your wires are on the strip correctly. I used one strip for positive and one strip for negative. Which strip did you purchase, some require the additional purchase of a jumper strip. Any pics would help also.
For a small layout your setup is doable but for a larger layout I would suuggest running a buss underneath and drop feeders to the buss.
Jerry

jbrock27

I am with Jerry.  Bc of the fact that it works when you disconnect the wires, makes me think something along the line is not wired correctly (consistently) and you are creating a short with that those 2 wires. Double check you have all the same polarities joined and the opposites joined together with no crossing over.  Please keep us informed of your progress.
Keep Calm and Carry On

GK Trains

It is very difficult to determine polarity. On my transformer there are just two connections both labeled variable posts. I will check again but this is what I think I did:
1. Divided a terminal strip in two by severing the jump connection. Now I have a positive
    and negative side